Manor courts: report of the Select Committee on Operation of Small Debt Jurisdiction of Manor Courts in Ireland, minutes of evidence, appendix and index

Back to Search Bibliographic Data Print

Appendix, No. 

Appendix, No. 
Quarter Sessions, 


PAPERS delivered in by Mr. 
George Mathews, and referred to in his Evidence 

of 27 March 1838. 

Petty Sessions, 


RETURN of Quarter Sessions in every County in Ireland. 
Antrim:—At Ballymoney, twice a year; Carrickfergus, twice; Belfast, thrice; Bal-lymena, twice ; and Antrim, twice. 
Armagh:—At Armagh, four times a year; Markethill, four times; Lurgan, twice; Ballybot, twice; and Newtownhamilton, once. 
Carlow :—At Carlow, twice ; Tullow, twice; and Bagnalstown, once. 
Cavan:—At Cootehill, twice; Ballyconnel, twice; Cavan, four times; and Bailie-boro', twice. 
Donegal :— At Donegal, thrice a year; Glenties, twice; Letterkenny, twice; Bun-crana, once ; and Lifford, once. 
Down:—At Downpatrick, twice; Nevvry, twice; Newtownards, twice ; and Rillsboro', twice. 
Galway :—At Eyrecourt, once; Ballinasloe, twice; Galway, four times; Oughterard, twice; Clifden, twice; Tuam, twice ; Loughrea, twice ; and Gort, once. 
Kerry:—At Ki Harney, four times; Cahirciveen, twice; Tralee, four times ; Dingle, twice ; Listowell, four times; and Kenmare, twice. 
Kildare:—At Kildare, twice; Naas, twice; Athy, twice; and Maynooth, twice. 
Kilkenny:—At Kilkenny, four times; Urlingford, twice; Thomastown, four times; Callan, twice ; Pilltown, twice ; and Castlecomer, once. 
King's :—At Philipstown, four times ; Tullamore, four times ; and Birr, four times. 
Leitrim :—At Manorhamilton, four times ; and Carrick-on-Shannon, four times. 
Limerick :—At Newcastle, twice ; Rathkeale, four times; Limerick, three times; and BrufT, twice. 
Londonderry:—Ac Londonderry, twice; Coleraine, twice; Newtown Limavady, twice; and Magherafelt, twice. 
T ongford:—At Longford, four times ; and Granard, twice. 
Louth :—At Drogheda, four times ; Arclee, twice; and Dundalk, four times. 
Mayo:—At Ballinrohe, four limes; Ballinn, four times; Castlebar, four times; and Belmuilet, once. 
Meath:—At Kells, twice; Dunshaughlin, twice; Trim, twice; Navan, twice; and Duleek, once. 
Monaghan:—At Clones, twice; Monaghan, four times; Castleblayney, four times; and Carrickmacross, twice. 
Roscommon :—At Athlone, twice ; Castlerea, twice; Boyle, twice ; Roscommon, twice; and Strokestown, twice. 
Sligo :—At Ballymote, four times ; Sligo, four times ; and Easky, twice. 
Tipperary:—At Clogheen, once; Tipperary, once; Thurles, twice ; Carrick-on-Suir, once; Cashei, thrice; Nenagh, twice; Roscrea, once; and Clonmel, twice. 
Tyrone:—At Clogher, (our times; Ornagh, four times; Strabane, four times; and Dungannon, four times. 
Waterford :—At Waterford, four times; Lismore, twice ; and Dungarvan, twice. 
Westmeath :—AtMoate, four times; and iViullingar, four times. 
Wexford:—AtEnniscorthy, twice; New Ross, twice; Gorey, twice; and Wexford, twice. 
Wicklow:—At Wicklow, four times; Arklow, twice; Tinnhely, four times; and Bal-tinglass, four times. 

Antrim Armagh -Carlow Cavan Clare Cork Donegal -

Down Dublin Fermanagh Gal way Kerry 

of Petty Sessions in every County in Ireland. 

16 Kildare -

12 Kilkenny 6 King's -

16 Leitrim -

18 Limerick 45 Londonderry !p 
Longford 23 Louth 11 Mayo 11 Meath -


40 Monaghan 22 Queen's -

11 17 17 9 18 12 12 8 22 15 7 18 

Roscommon Sligo Tipperary Tyrone -Waterford Wesimeath Wexford Wicklow 








-14 536