Henry Moore, Augusta, Georgia to W.J.C. Allen, Belfast

Back to Search View Transcript
Document ID 9904150
Date 11-05-1835
Document Type Letters (Emigrants)
Archive Public Record Office, Northern Ireland
Citation Henry Moore, Augusta, Georgia to W.J.C. Allen, Belfast; PRONI D1558/1/1; CMSIED 9904150
                                Augusta May 11th 1835

My Dear Brother
                  I expect you think it very hard that
I have not written to you, but I will tell you why I have
not written, it is that I might wait a long time and get a
great deal of news and write you a long letter.  I
have glad tidings and sorrowful news to tell you.  The
first is that your friend Mr Robert Clarke was married
to Miss Elizabeth Walton, the second is that she died of the
measles a week after she was married.  Mother has another
little girl she will be a month old next Wednesday.  And I
must also inform you that your friend Miss Elizabeth Nesbitt
was married to Mr Davis a respectable lawyer and since that,
had a little girl, Mrs Bryson has also a little girl.  I
still go to Mr Ried [Reid?] and still study latin, I am
now reading Viri Romea the Men of Rome.  Our examination
is to be on Wednesday next. There is to be a general
review of the Militia on Tuesday next by the Governor.
There has been a great many marriages since you left Augusta.
Mr P. Mc Gran to Miss P. Granville and Mr Amos G. Whitehead
to Miss Mc Kinne.  Mr Clarke's family have not moved out to
the hill, Mr Clarke's family are all well except Cousin
Francis who has had a fever but is now recovering.
Mr and Mrs Campbell are now enjoying good health and
have moved out to the hill.  Mr Fraser speaks of going
to the north this summer.  Mr and Mrs Edgar speak
of going to Ireland this spring.  Uncle John and Aunt Mary
were in very good health when they came, and still
continue so.  Uncle Samuel Bones was in February last
married to Miss Maria McGraw.  Mr and Mrs Black are
about to go to Ireland.  Miss Black and Robert are to
stay in Charleston and keep house.  Mrs Black has a
little baby.  I feel very much indebted to you for
your very kind letter, from which I derived a
great deal of information.  Father says that if he
finds I have capacity enough to learn, perhaps he will
send me to Ireland or England for two or three years.
My Pony is in very good order, and if you will come
and spend the winter in Augusta you shall have the
use of him.  Father took a trip to Charleston by the
way of Savannah this winter.  There has been three
fires this winter, Mrs Nichols was burnt out, and Mr
Bryson's stable was burnt which was below it, and the
house of Jas. [James?] Gardner which was above it.
There was one near the Catholic Church which burnt a
livery stable a great deal of corn and foder[fodder?]
with four horses which were burnt to death.  There was
one in broad street which came very near burning the
Post office.  There is now erecting two fine buildings
upon the spot where that last fire took place.  We are
going to have a railroad from this place to Athens, the
stock has been subscribed for.  I thank you for your
advice respecting my studies.  I have done nothing at all
except study Latin this winter I intend as soon as we move
out to the hill which will be in the course of a fortnight
to review my Geography, Grammar, and Arithmetic, and to
improve my writing which you will see requires it.  Mrs
McLean has moved out to the hill and I have complied with
your request concerning the little chair and the laugh
you had in it.  Father Mother and Brother John and all
my Sisters request to be remembered to you, and wish you
to come and spend next winter in Augusta.
                    I am Dear Brother
                    Yours affectionately

                    Henry Moore

P.S. I send this by Mr Harper and hope to have an answer [torn]
his return.

*envelope address:

     Wm. J.C. Allen Esquire

Mr. Wm. [William?] Harper

*wax seal signet mark: