Local Government Board for Ireland: fourth report with appendices

Back to Search Bibliographic Data Print
Local Government Acts. 
33 Counsel, that the order cannot be made under the Law as it now stands). 
From the Town Council of Waterford for the amendment of "The Waterford Water Act, 1871" (a local Act), by exempting a district called Ferrybank from the operation of the Act. 
Applications have also been received under the 19th section of the Public Health Act from the Board of Guardians of New-townards Union, as the Rural Sanitary Authority, and from the Town Commissioners of Newtownards as the Urban Sanitary Authority for the formation of a united district, consisting of the Electoral Divisions of Newtownards and Newtownards South, which include the town of Newtownards for the purposes of the Burial Grounds Acts. 
We have received applications from the towns of Tipperary and Arklow, with a view to the adoption of the provisions of the Towns Improvement Act in those towns. 
In the case of Tipperary the provisions of the 9th George IV., 
82, were formerly in force, but no Commissioners had been elected under the Act for several years. 
The requisite preliminary proceedings having been all gone through, the provisions of the Towns Improvement Act were adopted, and Commissioners have been elected. 
In Arklow the requisite meeting of the Rate-payers under the statute has not yet been held, but the Board have issued orders and directions as required by the Act for convening such meeting. 
By-laws have been submitted to, and approved by us for the regulation of markets and fairs in the towns of Newtownards, Maryborough, and Roscommon; for the regulation of bathing places in the townships of Killiney and Ballybrack ; for the re¬ gulation of hackney carriages, and the appointment of porters in the township of Queenstown; for.the 
regulation of common lodging-houses, other than those under the Common Lodging-Houses Acts, in the city of Limerick ; and for the regulation of common lodging-houses under the Common Lodging-Houses Acts in the following Unions and towns or townships, namely, the Unions of Loughrea, Carlow, Kilkenny, Limavady, Gorey, Carrick-on-Shannon, Celbridge, Mitchelstown, Bawnboy, Cashel, Kells, Ballymahon, Strabane, Tobercuriy, Lisnaskea, Mohill, Newcastle, Trim, Bailieboro', Letterkenny, Carrickmacross, Navan, Oldcastle, Callan, Omagh, Granard, Dunmanway, Belfast, Naas, Bandon, Monaghan, Athy, Antrim, Skibbereen, North Dublin, Banbridge, Edenderry, Larne, Donegal, Rathdown, and Nenagh ; the towns of Belfast, Ennis, Galway, and Enniskillen; and the township of Rathmines and Rathgar. 
Supplementary by-laws providing for the inspection of common lodging-houses by the Constabulary in accordance with the recommendation of the Board,* have also been adopted in the following places, namely, the Unions of Loughrea, Carlow,, 

* See Circular of 9th February, 1876—Appendix, C. 
No, 4, p.